Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 26, 2010/ 11 Shevat 5770

Simpler? And worse?

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I have mixed feelings about it, if you want to know the truth.


I speak of tax-code simplification, another item on President Obama's to-do list.


Last April, he established a committee that includes some sharp people from both sides of the political aisle.


The committee, headed by former Federal Reserve Chairman Paul Volcker, will soon release recommendations on how to simplify the tax code.


The tax issue has always been near and dear to me. I'm an independent writer, you see. Every year about now, I begin waking in cold sweats because of the massive clerical work I must do to file my taxes.


I keep hundreds of receipts in a large box in the closet of my home office. I must organize every one into its appropriate folder, tally and record the total and organize every transaction I made into a detailed document that I send to my CPA.


He has it even worse than I do, thanks to Republicans.


Long ago, Republicans were about simplicity where taxes were concerned. President Reagan took the mess that the tax code had been and led a simplification effort that made tax preparation so simple an English major could do it.


But since then, our politicians — mostly Republicans when they were in charge of the White House and Congress — added all kinds of nuances, albeit some in the form of tax cuts, to produce a monstrosity of a tax code.


Today, the U.S. tax code exceeds 67,000 pages — a document so confusing, a busload of Harvard CPAs can't agree on what is in it.


During the presidential campaign, Obama offered some ideas to dramatically simplify tax preparation for about 40 percent of Americans.


He said he'd have the IRS use taxpayers' employer-provided financial information to "pre-populate" their tax-return forms for them.


Translation: The IRS would do your taxes for you.


Not to worry — if a clerical error said you owed a couple million dollars, I'm sure you'd have to spend only a few weeks in jail before you straightened things out.

Letter from JWR publisher


In any event, Obama's tax-simplification ideas sounded pretty good during the campaign and a year ago, but they've lost their luster since then — since he and Congress spent the past year trying to "reform" and "simplify" our health care system.


For starters, it doesn't sound like Obama's ideas would help out the self-employed much anyway — even if he succeeded in simplifying the tax code.


I don't work for a company — I don't file a W-2. I have a variety of sources of income. I'd still have to itemize. I'd still have to do battle with the box of receipts I keep in my closet.


My CPA, Tommy O, would likely be just as bad off — if not worse.


If the way Obama and Congress went about health care reform is any indication — with apologies to Winston Churchill, the Senate's bill was a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enema — they'd likely make the tax code more complicated at the same time they jacked up our taxes.


In any event, now that their first stab at heath care "reform" is dead — now that Republican Scott Brown has won Ted Kennedy's old seat — the odds are, reports The Hill, that Obama and Congress are too fatigued to try to reform the tax code.


On one hand, that's a bummer. I'm desperate for tax simplification.


But considering that things could be made even worse, I don't mind rooting around in a box of receipts as much as I used to.


As I said, I have mixed feelings about the whole thing.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2010, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles