Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 19, 2010/ 3 Shevat 5770

The Next Tea Party?

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In a recent column, I spoke about what I considered a new paradigm emerging in Washington, D.C.: neither the president nor the Democratically-controlled Congress find it necessary to disguise, hide or feel ashamed about their overt corruption. Nothing exemplifies this any better than the latest health care bribe: unionized workers, including government workers, will be exempt from the "Cadillac Tax" imposed on everyone else.


Remember, this is the same bunch of Congressional hooligans, led by the Hooligan-in-Chief, who respectively promised to run the "most ethical Congress in history" and "bring Americans together." As most Americans now know—including some previously comatose hope-and-changers—promises made by this president and this Congress are utterly worthless. They will say absolutely anything to get what they want, and even when they are taken to task for their overt lying, their reaction can be summed up in two words:


Screw you.


That, my friends, is a new paradigm.


Thus, the idea of granting blatantly special favors to certain constituencies requires no explanation. Thug government does what it wants, when it wants, and if playing one group of Americans off other groups gets the country another step closer to socialized medicine, so be it. Perhaps, in the Bizzaro world occupied by such ethically-challenged reprobates, such behavior equals does indeed transparent government: we are openly corrupt, therefore we are transparent.


Campaign promise kept, after all.


There is a possible bright spot on the horizon. Ironically, it is Democrats themselves, suffused with the kind of stupidity that unbridled arrogance begets, who have created it. Here's a hint: trumpeting a union exemption for health care taxes could have been done just as easily this Wednesday, as opposed to last week. The difference? Shoving it in the electorate's face after Tuesday's Senate election in Massachusetts would have made a lot more sense for Democrats looking to secure "Ted Kennedy's seat" for their filibuster-proof 60th vote on health care.


How delicious would it be if this latest example of corruptive cronyism is the tipping point for Bay State voters in this toss-up election, and the bluest blue state in the country sends Republican Scott Brown to the Senate?

Letter from JWR publisher


Against all odds, it's a distinct possibility. And make no mistake: for Democrats it would be an unmitigated disaster, the proverbial shot across the bow—courtesy of the same state which gave another group of arrogant political hacks a well-deserved smack-down back in 1773, known as the Boston Tea Party.


Perhaps this is what Mr. Arrogance himself, Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY), had in mind when he called Scott Brown a "far-right teabagger." Way to "bring Americans together," Chuck.


Ironically, he and his fellow Democrats are doing just that. In my fifteen years of political commentary, I have never seen the public more united—in disgust and anger with their government. Certainly anger has always been a staple of the American left, for whom this country is a tragically flawed nation requiring their morally "superior" ministrations for national "salvation." But when Grandma and Grandpa are flexing their arthritic joints and shuffling down to a town hall meeting, when soccer moms are socking it to their elected representatives, and dedicated couch potatoes are aroused enough to get off the Barcaloungers, watch out.


The Silent Majority is clearing its throat. Here's hoping the roar from Massachusetts is deafening.


Postscript: after this column was written, I watched a video of MSNBC's Ed Schultz talking about the election. Here's what he said regarding the possibility of a Brown victory:


"I tell you what, if I lived in Massachusetts I'd try to vote 10 times. I don't know if they'd let me or not, but I'd try to. Yeah, that's right. I'd cheat to keep these bastards out. I would. 'Cause that's exactly what they are." Three questions come to mind:


1. Will even a single prominent Democrat repudiate such an odious statement?


2. Everyone is entitled to an opinion, but is this what passes for professionalism on MSNBC?


3. How many other liberals, including those of the "ACORN variety," also believe cheating in an election is perfectly acceptable—because the ends justify the means?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


01/15/10:
The Myth That Keeps on Giving
01/13/10: Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport
01/11/10: Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles