Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 13, 2010/ 27 Teves 5770

Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | One has to wonder how time-consuming, infuriating, and thoroughly invasive airport security will have to become in order to protect the traveling public. Yet as I watched, listened and read about the near impossibility of protecting people against explosive devices which can be hidden in underwear—or body cavities—I began to think that, maybe, our focus is completely misdirected.


First, trying to protect air travelers is a defensive measure, and airports are the last line of defense. Perhaps the first line of defense is telling countries now receiving American taxpayers dollars to combat terror that every attempted terrorist attack emanating from inside their borders will result in one or two penalties: a reduction in that aid, and/or a suspension of flights to American airports for a specific period of time. Nothing focuses the mind like self-interest—or money.


Second, and a heavy lift for an administration so "concerned" about terror that no one will be fired for the latest debacle: anyone, including American citizens, attempting to attack a jetliner, or any other form of public transportation will automatically be considered an "enemy combatant" with no Constitutional rights and no hope whatsoever of getting a civil trial.


Third, make it crystal clear to the world that our respect for a country's national sovereignty will no longer apply if we are attacked by terrorists whose activities originate in that country. Translation: we reserve the right to put an investigative, or military presence on the ground wherever U.S. interests are threatened. Any country which disagrees will incur the penalties referred to in article one above.


Fourth, America will reserve the right to surveil every mosque and madrassa in the United States, and those imams advocating the overthrow of our government will be subject to prosecution if they are American citizens—and subject to deportation if they are not. If we can arrest people who threaten the life of president, we can arrest people who threaten all of us.

Letter from JWR publisher


Fifth, any non-citizen Muslim cleric currently allowed to proselytize in any prison in America will be removed, and all citizen clerics will be subjected to ongoing reviews. It is pure insanity that we allow prisoners to be radicalized right under our noses, lest we be charged with intolerance.


Sixth, another heavy lift for liberals and the Obama administration: in the same manner Wall Street changes its evaluation of a stock from "buy" to "neutral," the United States changes its politically correct view of Islam as a "religion of peace"—coupled with the "majority of Muslims are on our side"—to one of "actions speak louder than words." It is long past time where assumptions about the "true nature" of Islam give way to the realities of Islam. As I have said many times before, the Muslim majority is on no one's side. They are in wait-and-see mode, and will back the stronger horse when such becomes apparent.


Seventh, intelligent, and unabashed airport profiling with a focus on both behavior and ethnicity. We can't ignore the reality that terrorist wannabes are overwhelmingly young Muslim males (ethnicity), nor can we ignore people acting strangely (behavior). What we can ignore are people who insist political correctness should trump common sense and passenger safety. The Israelis apparently have an effective system. What do they know that we don't? It behooves us to find out.


Eighth, an expansion of the air marshal program. Maybe an armed guard on every flight is impossible, but we can certainly up the percentage.


Ninth, a no-brainer for everyone with a clue: kill terrorists wherever and whenever we get the opportunity. Kill lots of them, and stop pretending that people willing to strap on dynamite suits, who profess to "love death more than we love life" can be "rehabilitated" by some form of appeasement, therapy—or apologetic groveling.


Perfect solutions? Hardly. But if we are at "war," as even our dewy-eyed president was forced to admit, then the extraordinary as opposed to the ordinary, becomes part of the equation. Proactive, outside-box-thinking replaces reactive conventional wisdom. I make no claim of expertise, but it's time to think about solutions, no matter how imperfect.


For those obsessed with rights to the point of suicide, a perusal of American history will reveal that we have alternatively tightened and loosened our interpretation of rights with respect to war and peace. For example, habeas corpus was suspended by Abraham Lincoln in response to the Civil War. It was subsequently reinstated.


One last thing. It's long past time that someone in Washington, D.C. stated the obvious: we're the good guys, trying to defeat the bad guys. It's amazing how such a basic understanding of war gets mangled by elitist, PC-worshipping intellectuals for whom choosing sides is tantamount to jingoistic bigotry.


Perhaps someone should remind these folks that an "imperfect America" beats the hell out of a worldwide Islamic caliphate.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


01/11/10:
Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles