Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 19, 2009 / 23 Teves 5769

How did he do?

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Here is George W. Bush pushing an aluminum cart down the aisle of his TWA charter, pretending to take drink orders from reporters. He is wearing a blue, basket weave shirt, a red Ferragamo tie, dress slacks and a big Western belt with a huge state of Texas belt buckle that has "George W. Bush" embossed on it. He is wearing ostrich-skin boots.


About 100 journalists are on the plane, which has "Great Expectations" printed on its nose. It is June 12, 1999. Bush is beginning his first campaign for president.



He shakes the hand of every reporter, talking easily, laughing and joking with them. A few seconds earlier, he had gotten out his half-glasses, perched them on his nose and read from a piece of paper into the intercom.


"This is your candidate speaking," he said. "Please stow your expectations securely in the overhead bin as they may shift during the trip and they could fall and hurt someone — especially me."


The reporters laughed.


"Please understand that while you are traveling with a well-trained crew, for many of us, this is our first solo flight," he continued. "Thanks for coming along today — we know you have a choice of candidates when you fly, and we appreciate you choosing Great Expectations."


The reporters applauded. We knew this was part of Bush's calculated "charm offensive," but we were charmed anyway. The Bush campaign also knew that reporters like stuff, so when we came aboard each seat had resting on it a T-shirt that read "I Have Great Expectations for Governor Bush" and a laminated luggage tag labeled "Score Card" that asked: "How Did He Do?"


I still have my tag. It asks for grades for Bush. The grades are: "Grand Slam," "Triple," "Double," "Single" and "Back to Minors."


Now, at the end of his presidency, Bush is handing out no such scorecards. But he is getting graded nonetheless.


I don't think George W. Bush ever wanted to be president. Not really. In 1992, as "owner" (he had a 1.8 percent stake) of the Texas Rangers, he lobbied hard to become commissioner of baseball, even though Texas Republican leaders had already asked him to run for governor. Only when his attempt for the baseball job failed did Bush decide to run for governor. But he had to be pushed into it. Just as he had to be pushed into running for president.


And there were always people around him willing to do the pushing, seeing him as a vehicle for their agendas.


I don't think George Bush ever had a passion for the job of president. Nor do I think he ever enjoyed it. I don't view Bush as a tragic figure, but his two terms had tragic consequences: a war in Iraq, a shattered economy, the shredding of America's image around the world.


In his farewell address on Thursday, he understandably tried to make the best of things, pointing out some of his achievements: keeping the country safe from further attack after Sept. 11, 2001, fighting AIDS and malaria in Africa, increasing benefits for veterans.


Then there came this line: "You may not agree with some tough decisions I have made. But I hope you can agree that I was willing to make the tough decisions."


That was the problem, however. He made tough, wrong decisions. Or those around him did.


How better things might have been if Bush had said in 2003, "Launching an invasion of Iraq is a really tough decision. But let's wait to see if those weapons of mass destruction really exist."


And then there were those decisions not quickly made. Like rushing aid to the victims of Hurricane Katrina. His "willingness" to make tough decisions lagged a little there. And people no longer felt as if their president really had his head in the game.


"I'm not really the type to wander off and sit down and go through a deep wrestling with my soul," he once told reporters.


So maybe he will not wrestle with his soul over these last eight years. But I think he is very, very glad they are over.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate