Donate to JWR

Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 30, 2009 / 27 Teves 5769

Rugged Notebook a Novelty

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The Durabook Pro 15T will set you back $1339, and if you need a relatively light notebook that has some rugged features, it might be a good investment.


However, this product strikes me as being just shy of ready for prime time. For a price double or even nearly triple that of some non-rugged laptops with a 15-inch display, this computer is certainly an acquired taste.


The Durabook Pro is a product from GammaTech, a Fremont, Calif.-based company that claims 21 years in the computer market. Its manufacturing facilities, the firm's Website says, are in Taiwan and mainland China; final assembly of the notebook I tested was done, the firm claims, in the U.S.


The selling proposition of the Durabook is that it contains shock mounting and other protection for the hard disc drive, the 15.4-inch display screen and other key components, including a spill-resistant keyboard. Protection against accidental damage is important, since most computer users are human and, well, things happen. I've recounted here before one of the scariest sounds I've ever heard, that of the cracking of a computer lid when the passenger in the seat ahead leaned back, with their seat striking the open lid. Ouch.


But protection against screen damage is one thing, performance is another. If performance takes a big hit, keeping the computer safe is less meaningful. In testing the Durabook, I found several noticeable performance issues.


One of the first is in the area of video performance: the unit claims an Intel Graphics Media Accelerator chip to power the display. But when playing streaming video from the Internet on a Verizon FiOS connection, the quality was less than desirable: in full screen mode, the video stopped at times while the sound contined. I encountered this with videos from both Hulu.com and YouTube, short clips and long ones. Perhaps boosting the computer's memory beyond the supplied 1 Gigabyte would help, but if that's the case, I'd think the maker would have upped the RAM as a standard feature.


In short, there's little excuse, in 2009, for a portable computer to have any issues with graphic performance, particularly when it comes to streaming video. We may lug our laptops to meetings and conferences, but in our off time, many of us want to watch TV online. Decent video playback is essential now, and this computer has some struggles here, at least in my opinion.


I also had hiccups with the built-in wireless networking, even though I tested it within about two feet of the wireless router to which I was trying to connect. Wi-Fi can have its issues, but these problems surfaced with routers that had what's known as "WEP" encrypted connections and those without the protection. My conclusion: there's an issue here. It might well be transitory, however, and I wouldn't dismiss the Durabook for that reason alone.


The computer's keyboard is a bright spot: it's reminiscent of the old IBM Selectric-style keyboards, kind of a "gold standard" for touch-typists, and if the spill protection holds, it's a nice combination. The touch-pad mouse system was fine, although the scroll feature of the mouse worked in word processing, hut not with Internet Explorer. Sigh.


I think the Durabook Pro has some promise: it's lighter and more stylish than many "ruggedized" Windows notebooks that I've seen, and typing on it for long periods of time wouldn't be a problem. However, if I can't enjoy "30 Rock" online, or if the Wi-Fi has gone "bye bye," it may be worth waiting for future models in the firm's line. Information on the products can be found at www.durabook.com.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles