Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 19, 2009 / 23 Teves 5769

A tale of two plane crashes

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There were two news-making plane crashes this past week. Miraculously, no one died in either one.


But while the passengers of a US Airways jet were overjoyed to see their rescuers in the frigid waters of the Hudson River, a pilot named Marcus Schrenker was much less happy.


Schrenker, flying over Alabama last Sunday, radioed that his Piper PA-46 turboprop was having trouble. He said his windshield had imploded. Then, without telling air traffic controllers, he parachuted out, leaving his plane to fly on autopilot until it finally crashed in the Florida Panhandle.


When authorities found the plane smashed into in a tree, they searched for a body but none could be found.


That's because Schrenker apparently already had hopped on a motorcycle he'd hidden in the Alabama woods, and had driven off to what he hoped would be a new life.


A NEW BEGINNING?
Now, there are a lot of ways to try to start over. This one seemed a bit extreme. Then again, Schrenker was reportedly a charmer of the highest order, who used his style, looks and mouth to woo clients for his investment company.


He had a stunning blonde wife, three children, a $4 million home in Indiana and his own plane.


And then it all went bad.


Investigators began looking into his business, on suspicion that he charged exorbitant fees without informing his clients. They charged him with several felony counts. He also was reportedly being investigated for securities fraud. And last month, his wife filed for divorce, claiming he'd had an affair.


Everybody has a breaking point. Apparently for Schrenker, his old life was not worth fighting for. He preferred to ditch his mistakes, ditch his plane and ditch his existence.


Now, there is a lesson here, I suspect, because America today is a place where many of us would like to ditch it all and start over. Many of us feel we're being forced to.


Our banks accounts have shrunk like laundry mistakes. Our jobs have been wiped out, as have our offices and even our companies. We have lost cars. We have lost homes. We have lost self-esteem. We have lost confidence.


How many of us have fantasized about ditching it all, skipping out on our debt, leaving behind our dependents, going someplace warm and starting again with no responsibilities?

THE VALUE OF LIFE
But we don't. And why not? Because while we may have lost almost everything else, we've managed to hang onto hope. And appreciation. And a sense of honor. And perspective. We face our troubles. We believe things will improve. And we know as long as there is a child to hold, a spouse to hug and food to be eaten, we'll be OK. Many don't even have that.


Schrenker had that and more. But he apparently didn't appreciate it. He allegedly was ready to commit fraud, but not at all ready to accept the consequences. And he would rather have been dead to his children than face them as less than what he'd pretended to be.


In the end, that's how he was found anyhow, hiding in a tent in a Florida campground, bleeding from a self-inflicted wrist wound that was likely a suicide attempt. He'll face charges. He'll face shame. He may face jail time.


Now contrast him with those US Airways passengers who survived the water landing and leapt onto rafts to be rescued. When their plane was going down, when the pilot told them to brace themselves, at that moment, if you had asked them if they had to give up their money and their business and take responsibility for whatever they'd done wrong in life in exchange for surviving — don't you think they'd have hollered "DEAL!"


A plane crash almost killed those passengers. Fate spared them.


Schrenker faked a plane crash.


Fate caught him in the end.


I'm betting some of those New York passengers boarded that plane feeling lousy about their lives. And I'm betting they got off those rescue boats feeling a whole lot better.


Too bad Schrenker couldn't appreciate that before bailing out.


He'd be in much less trouble.


And he'd still have a plane.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2009, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles