Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 2, 2008 / 24 Teves, 5768

What is Edwards so mad about?

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | DES MOINES — John Edwards is the son of a mill worker and "had to fight to survive."


"Literally," he says in his mad-as-hell, bare-knuckle stump speech. "Really."


But John Edwards not only survived, he prevailed. He became a wealthy lawyer, a U.S. senator, a vice presidential nominee and a two-time candidate for president.


So what is he so angry about?


His speeches are filled with harsh attacks on the current system, on giant corporations that make "billions and billions in profits" and CEOs who make "hundreds of millions of dollars" in salaries.


He says that average Americans must "rise up" and take power back, because the powerful interests who are exploiting the people will never "voluntarily give up their power."


"That is a complete fantasy," he says. "It will never happen."


The first time he ran for the Democratic presidential nomination, he spoke in passionate, but far less harsh, tones. And the difference has not gone unnoticed.


This time, independent political analyst Stuart Rothenberg recently wrote, "If Iowa Democrats choose Edwards, they are choosing anger, confrontation and class warfare."


Monday, I interviewed Edwards and his wife, Elizabeth. I asked them if John was an angry man and, if so, why.


"What I am conveying," Edwards said, "is passion and energy. I am extraordinarily optimistic about what we can do for this country, but I deeply believe that corporate greed is doing great damage to the middle class."


"If we want to fulfill the promise of this country," he said, "we have to stand up."


Elizabeth Edwards said that her husband could be ferocious but that he was not angry.


"You see in him a passion and determination and even ferociousness in a sense, but not out-of-control anger," she said. "I've been with him for 30 years and I know what anger looks like on his face, and this isn't it. Obama thinks anger doesn't sell, so he says John is angry."


(Barack Obama recently said: "The argument goes that the only way to bring about change is to be angry. I don't need lectures about how to bring about change because I have been doing it all my life.")


I asked John Edwards if there is anything inherently wrong with corporations making large profits and people making large salaries.


"I embrace the idea of Americans being able to be successful, including extraordinarily successful, and working hard and doing well," he said. "I have lived that myself."


But, he added, "there is something inherently wrong with people and corporations with extraordinary wealth and influence using that against the interests of middle-class Americans."


Is Edwards' rise from humble roots not proof that there is economic mobility in American life under the current system?


"It absolutely proves that," he said, "but it is increasingly difficult to move the way I have moved. The barriers are higher and the difficulties greater."


So, as president, would he place a cap on the large corporate profits and large corporate salaries he complains about?


"There would be no caps. That would be contrary to free enterprise; I wouldn't do that," he said. "What I would do is equalize the voices of all Americans in a democracy."


The Iowa caucus will take place Thursday, and Edwards said that while he provides specific solutions to problems, he wants to leave a general impression in these closing days of the campaign.


"The critical thing for people to understand," he said, "is what I believe in a big-picture way: I don't want to see those with power and money tread on those who don't have it."


Elizabeth Edwards drew a direct comparison between her husband and Obama.


"There was a New York Times article fairly early in the race," she said. "It had a picture of Obama with an Afro — that a lot of people had then, it was nice looking, not odd looking — at Harvard Law School, being asked to voice an opinion at a meeting of people with respect to tenure for African-American professors. He spoke, and spoke eloquently, and when he left, both sides felt he agreed with them."


This was not a good sign, Elizabeth said. This was an example of when a "desire for conciliation becomes more important than getting a particular result."


She also said that being too conciliatory "is not what we need right now" and that "John believes we have to fight."


"What this country needs is someone who is ferocious and determined, committed and impassioned, and is not angry to do things, but committed to do things," she said.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2008, Creators Syndicate