Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 14, 2008 / 7 Shevat 5768

Oops! Media forgot women once again

By Clarence Page


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A woman who recognized me on the street, thanks to my tireless self-promotion, asked me on the day after the New Hampshire primary: "In a word, why did Barack Obama lose?"


In a word? Gimme a break, lady.


That's how pollsters and media pontificators, including me, got our predictions wrong. We oversimplified based on what we knew.


All the published polls taken right through Jan. 7 put the Illinois senator comfortably ahead by an average of more than 8 percent. The numbers seemed to be backed up by visual evidence. Obama's rallies overflowed. Hillary Clinton's spokespeople said they'd be satisfied if they merely avoided a wipeout.


But irrational exuberance had taken hold. For one thing, the polls, news coverage and commentary tended to count undecided voters as if they were decided. They weren't.


After headlines like "Clinton braces for second loss" in The Wall Street Journal, Obama's narrow loss looked like a landslide victory for Clinton.


What happened? In a word, I think the nice woman was expecting me to say, "Race." As much as the biracial Obama deserves praise for "transcending race" in his campaign, you don't have to be black to have your race-radar turned on full alert for any unfair slights or outright rip-offs .


Enough black candidates have lost to white candidates — or won narrow victories — after polls showed them well ahead that the phenomenon has a nickname. Pollsters call it the "Bradley Effect" after Tom Bradley, Los Angeles' first black mayor. His 10-point lead in the polls evaporated into a narrow loss in his 1982 gubernatorial race against George Deukmejian.


What may have thrown the pollsters off in New Hampshire was not race or gender, but class. Polling expert Andrew Kohut, president of the Pew Research Center, suggests in a New York Times essay that pollsters got it wrong not because respondents were lying but because lower-income and less-well-educated voters are less likely to agree to answer pollsters' questions. Whites who do not respond to surveys, Kohut wrote, "tend to have more unfavorable views of blacks than respondents who do the interviews."


Indeed, a closer look at the New Hampshire figures reveals that the pollsters predicted Obama's turnout just about right. The surprise came mostly in Clinton's larger-than-expected voter turnout, especially among women.


Media, including me, underestimated women again. I say "again" because Clinton's surprise victory reminded me of a Democratic primary in which a black candidate received more white votes than expected. In 1992, angered by popular Illinois Sen. Alan Dixon's vote to confirm U.S. Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas, Carol Moseley Braun scored an upset victory, thanks largely to an unanticipated turnout by white suburban women.


Now as then, Clinton's upset similarly sends everyone searching for a single pivotal explanatory turning point in winning over the late deciders.


Was it the moment in the coffee shop when she seemed to choke up and grow misty-eyed on camera while explaining why the White House is so important to her?


Was it her flashes of charm and humility during an earlier debate when she responded with a big smile in response to a question about why people find Obama more likable: "Well, that hurts my feelings."


Or was it the dimwit heckler in a Salem, N.H., town hall meeting who waved a sign and yelled: "Iron my shirt!" To which she responded, "Ah, the remnants of sexism alive and well!"


How about all of the above? A political campaign is a series of events, Lee Atwater, the late Machiavellian political consultant, used to say. In New Hampshire, Hillary Clinton made the events work in her favor.


Cynics and hard-core Hillary haters accuse her of faking it. I'm pretty cynical sometimes too. But the worst I can say after replaying these moments on YouTube is that, if she was acting in any of these instances, she deserves an Oscar.


One way or another, she shed like an old coat the regal robo-candidate image that distanced her from late-deciding voters as they wondered whether she was on their side.


She found her voice, she said. For her, it came not a moment too soon.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on Clarence Page's column by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles