Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 14, 2008 /7 Shevat 5768

Minimize estate tax for heirs — legally; huge financial mistake when dealing with elderly patient

By Jan L. Warner & Jan Collins


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: To our surprise, upon visiting our financial adviser, my wife and I have assets of nearly $4 million dollars, mostly due to the fact that we pulled out of the stock market at the right time. This includes my 401k and some beach and mountain property my wife inherited. We are in our late 60s, have three grown children and seven grandchildren. We also have long-term care insurance.


We really had not paid much attention to estate planning until now. Our wills, which were prepared in the 1980s, leave everything to the survivor and then to our children. We went to a lawyer whose explanation was like hearing a foreign language. We want to avoid estate taxes, but we seem to be missing something. Is there a simple solution that will help us?


A: If you leave your wills as is, there will be no estate tax due when the first of your dies; however, when the survivor dies, there could be a substantial tax due because your current wills do not allow either of you to take advantage of the unified credit. Without getting overly complicated, the unified credit allows each of you to leave a specific amount to your heirs without estate-tax consequences. This year, the unified credit is the equivalent of transferring $2 million without estate tax to your heirs. Next year, the exemption level increases to $3.5 million. Congress is still tinkering with what will happen after that; however, by equalizing the ownership of your assets between you and your wife and by using wills with credit-shelter trusts, you should be able to avoid most of the tax that would otherwise be due at the second death. Be sure to see a lawyer who is trained in these areas and who can provide you with a complete plan, including projected tax savings.


Q: My aunt was admitted to a Medicare-Medicaid certified nursing home in November after suffering a stroke. When her Medicare ran out, we applied for Medicaid, and she was approved. Then she developed pneumonia that required a five-day rehospitalization last month. When the doctor was ready to release her, we were told that her bed had been taken and we would have to find another nursing home. Because we didn't know any better, we got her clothes and personal items from the nursing home and took her home with us for what we thought would be a short time.


We are now going into the second month, and my husband and I can't handle it. Her children refuse to help, and she requires 24/7 care. We can't afford sitters. Is there anything we can do?


A: As you have learned, the worst mistake was taking her home with you. The Nursing Home Reform Act about which we talk so much provides residents who qualify for Medicaid benefits — but not Medicare — with what is called "Bed Hold and Readmission" rights. In other words, Medicaid — but not Medicare — residents who leave a facility for hospitalization or therapeutic reasons have the right to return. This means that the nursing home must hold the bed for a certain period of time and, if the absence exceeds the bed-hold period and the resident still requires skilled or intermediate nursing services, he or she is entitled to the first available bed in a semi-private room at the facility.


Based on what you have written, five days in the hospital should not exceed the bed-hold period. When your aunt was admitted, the facility should have explained the bed-hold policies to you and provided them to you in writing. And, before your aunt was discharged from the hospital, you should have been told about this right by the discharge planner, especially since the doctor ordered continued nursing-home care. By taking your aunt home voluntarily, you have probably relinquished her bed at the facility; however, we believe that the denial of these rights by the facility is sufficiently egregious to justify you asking your state ombudsman and licensing agency to investigate.


Taking the NextStep: While we understand that the admission process may seem complicated at a very emotional time, families must take the time to read and understand their rights.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JAN L. WARNER received his A.B. and J.D. degrees from the University of South Carolina and earned a Master of Legal Letters (L.L.M.) in Taxation from the Emory University School of Law in Atlanta, Georgia. He is a frequent lecturer at legal education and public information programs throughout the United States. His articles have been published in national and state legal publications. Jan Collins began co-authoring Flying SoloŽ in 1989. She has more than 27 years of experience as a journalist, writer, and editor. To comment or ask a question, please click here.

Archives

© 2008, Jan Warner

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles