Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 16, 2007 / 26 Teves, 5767

An Apple a Day makes me feel old and gray

By Lenore Skenazy


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | So now your cell phone will be able to do more things than you ever DREAMED it could do, ever WANTED it to do and ever could possibly MAKE it do without the help of your has-to-be-bribed-with-ramen-for-dinner 12-year-old.


The only problem: While he's busy punching buttons and telling you how easy it is to sync your laptop to your ring tone to your prefrontal cortex, you are curled up under the bed wondering: Was everything always changing this fast and it just SEEMS like now it is faster and harder to keep up than ever? Or is it all Steve Jobs' fault?


Let us look back to the Middle Ages to find out:


The event: That futuristic extravaganza, the Renaissance Fair


The place: Merry Young England


Standing on a tree stump: Sir Steven of Jobs


In his hand: A branch


Listen in: Wenches and gentlemen, gather 'round! See what a wonder have I here! You'll recall that five harvests ago I introduced ye to the wondrous device that made it simple for you to hear anyone whistle any tune at any time — provided you were standing close by. My device — the iStick — had merely to be poked into the ribs of your fellow peasant, along with the request, "Whistle, or I'll poke ye again. Harder." Simplicity itself! These days it is hard to remember a time before such sticks were in every person's hand.


And ribs.


Now, verily, most inventors are happy if they can create one such revolutionary device over the course of their three long decades on earth. But yea (for me!), I'm here to revolutionize again, this time with three popular devices astoundingly melded into one utensil. Behold the Apple iBranch: A branch from an apple tree you can use to prod your oxen, hold whilst walking and, as always, poke the reluctant whistler.


But wait! There's Sir Thomas Moore! (A little joke.) With just a few bits of straw you can turn this branch into a broom.


Remove the protective apple I've stuck on one end and it becomes a spear. Lash on some new-fangled iron, and it's a hoe! And you can sync the broom to the spear so that if someone bothers ye while ye be sweeping, you can impale him like a poxy rat. And if someone is calling you while you are listening to a whistler, you can put the whistler on hold (simply beat him over the head) and revive him when you're ready to listen again. It's absolutely intuitive!


Now watch this. You can forward your whistler to your oxen by pushing him along with the pointy end of the branch. If you'd like him to hoe while he's whistling while you are sweeping, simply press control/poke/sweep. You can instantly message your Lord or Lady by forwarding the iBranch through a castle window. And it can download pictures by drawing in the mud. Any questions?


WOMAN WITH GRAY HAIR: I don't get how you can hoe and sweep at once.


SIR JOBS: Ask your son.


AGED MAN: Do we really need one stick to do all this? Couldn't we just use a bunch of sticks?


SIR JOBS: That's olde-think. See how sleek is the iBranch? And it costs but 499 potatoes (599 if you want it sanded).


SON: I want it now! Here are 599 potatoes from my father's storage hole.


AGED MAN: That's our food for the winter!


SIR JOBS: Sold! Believe me, young man, your parents are stuck in the Dark Ages.


AGED MAN AND WOMAN (sneaking up behind Sir Job with giant branches they've ripped from a tree): Get out! Now! Take THAT for making us feel old and thick! And that! And that! And while you're running, whistle!


SIR JOBS: (Runs away, whistling "Green Sleeves.")


Moral of story: Times always ARE a-changing and it always IS Steve Jobs' fault. Now you know.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR contributor Lenore Skenazy's column by clicking here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives

© 2007, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles