Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 29, 2007 / 10 Shevat 5767

Ready for a (fill-in-blank) President?

By Clarence Page


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A conservative Midwestern talk radio host recently asked me a question that I'm certain haunts many minds these days: "If Barack Obama doesn't get elected, are black people going to say he lost because he is half-black?"


Sure, I responded. Some black people will presume the worst if the Illinois senator's bid for the Democratic presidential nomination fails. But I hastened to add, that prospect is no reason for whites to avoid voting for him.


Welcome to the subtext of Campaign 2008. In that exchange, you can hear echoes off a canyon-like perception gap that still divides the races. My interviewer sounded frustrated that blacks are still complaining about white racism in the era of Oprah, Condi, Barack and two black coaches in the Super Bowl (Go Bears!)


I, by contrast, tried not to sound just as frustrated by my own suspicions that a significant number of white voters, consciously or unconsciously, will grab any available excuse to avoid giving a black candidate an even break. I hope I'm wrong, but my experience as a black American has conditioned me to be cautious.


In part, that helps to explain Obama's amazing popularity. A lot of Americans hope he can rescue us from doubts about our own country's ability to be fair. That's a lot to ask of any election campaign, but we Americans don't get anywhere by thinking small.


On that score, this election is shaping up to be a big deal with Obama's announcement of a presidential exploratory committee and similar announcements by fellow Democratic Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton of New York and Gov. Bill Richardson of New Mexico. A diversity trifecta! We can now talk in terms that are more than vague and abstract about whether the country is ready for a black, female or Hispanic president.


Yet, the polls and various news reports reveal a remarkable pessimism among blacks, females and Hispanics about their chances.


For example, a Newsweek poll taken before Christmas found that 86 percent of registered voters would vote for a qualified woman for president and even more, 93 percent, say the same for a qualified African-American. But when asked whether "America is ready to elect a woman president," the "yes" answers dropped to only 55 percent — with 7 percent fewer women than men!


That corresponds to other polls, news reports and other anecdotes of women's skepticism about Clinton's prospects and black and Hispanic activists who wonder about Obama's and Richardson's ability to go the distance.


Ironically, even as some women express doubts about Hillary Clinton's win-ability, black political leaders are reluctant to sever ties with Clinton, whose ex-president husband was popular enough for many African-Americans to call him "our first black president."


And voters often think better of their own sense of fairness than that of their neighbors. When Doug Wilder tested the New Hampshire presidential primary waters in 1992, three years after he became Virginia's first elected black governor, a white New Hampshire focus group liked him until they found out he was black, according to Wilder's pollster. They had no personal objection to his race, they said, but they doubted that he would go over with the rest of the state's voters.


Wilder ran into a similar double standard in his 1989 race for governor. His commanding lead in polls over his white opponent, Marshall Coleman, dried up into a single-digit photo finish and he barely won. His was one of many high-profile contests in recent decades in which white voters apparently lied to pollsters rather than reveal their intentions to vote against a black candidate.


When sensitive issues like race and gender are involved, polls don't tell us the truth; they only measure our perceptions of the truth. Our perceptions are colored by our experiences, which helps explain why women or minorities are likely to express less optimism about the fairness of whites or men in the privacy of the voting booth. Yet a lot of whites and a lot of us guys feel pain, too. We bristle at being presumed guilty of racism or sexism before we are given a chance to prove otherwise.


Now that we have the first truly viable black, female and Hispanic candidates entering the presidential horserace, we have our best opportunity to prove our own perceptions right or wrong.


I remain optimistic about the capacity of Americans to be fair to women and minority candidates, even if it takes more than one election to prove it. I'm old enough to remember how pessimistic my Catholic friends were about whether America was ready to elect a Catholic president, just before John F. Kennedy was elected. That's why, as the old saying goes, the only poll that really counts is the one that's held on Election Day.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on Clarence Page's column by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles