Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 22, 2007 / 3 Shevat 5767

Buchwald takes an era with him

By Clarence Page


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I used to wonder what the old, uh, ferrets of the newspaper business were talking about when they grew all wistful and blubbery about "the passing of an era." With the death of Art Buchwald, I no longer wonder. From at least the 1950s, he exemplified the brighter side of our business.


He died Wednesday at age 81. In June, he checked out of a hospice where he said he had grown tired of waiting to die from kidney failure.


I didn't meet him until 2000, after he had suffered a stroke but had recovered well enough to resume writing his column. That was a lucky break for me because it gave me the opportunity to personally tell him during a conference of newspaper editors how much I appreciated him. Reading the greats like Buchwald in high school made me want to be a columnist. Long before there was "The Daily Show" or "Saturday Night Live," Buchwald was like Mad magazine, feeding my generation's adolescent need to poke fun at the pompous and powerful.


He was a humor columnist, which can be the toughest job in the newspaper field. Buchwald usually delivered, and he never stopped trying, right to the end and beyond. Fortune gave him enough time to turn out not only a farewell column but also a farewell book, "Too Soon to Say Goodbye," published a few weeks ago.


All of this followed a legendary career that included a 1982 Pulitzer Prize for commentary. That was more than 30 years after he talked his way into a nightlife column-writing job at the European edition of the New York Herald Tribune. He partied around Paris with Audrey Hepburn, Humphrey Bogart, Lauren Bacall, Lena Horne, William Styron, James Jones, Grace Kelly and other swells of literature, politics and show business. Not bad for a poor kid from an orphanage who started both high school and college, yet somehow never managed to finish either one. Those were the days.


At his best, his humor columns offered a prose version of an editorial cartoon, a parallel universe of caricatures. There was Horace Mud, president of the Smear and Dirty Production Co., which specialized in political "smear commercials."


There was Peter Stone, who broke "the six-minute Louvre," the long-standing record for the world's quickest tour by any tourist through the great Paris art museum, "while thousands cheered."


As it happens for many of us who have to be carried out feet-first from the column-writing trade, critics said Buchwald was not as funny in his final days as he used to be.


Maybe, but audiences have changed too. Buchwald and Mad magazine have been overwhelmed by a flood of edgy humorists, some of whom have axes to grind. When the new media wannabes can't come up with true wit, they sometimes turn nasty. "I am Big!" declared actress Gloria Swanson as Norma Desmond in the film "Sunset Boulevard." "It's the pictures that got small!" Buchwald was big too. It's the political humor that got mean.


Buchwald didn't seem to mind. It was all grist for his imagination. "You can't make up anything anymore," he once said. "The world itself is a satire. All you're doing is recording it."


In his final days, his most meaningful story proved to be him. Doctors told him his kidneys had failed. He tried dialysis and didn't like it. He checked into a hospice. A parade of celebrity friends and well-wishers streamed through. He gave interviews. He wrote the last of his more than 30 books. "I don't know if this is true or not, but I think some people, not many, are starting to wonder why I'm still around," he writes diarylike in his book. "In fact, a few are sending me get-well cards."


After several months, he checked out of the hospice, to spend his final days in Martha's Vineyard, which he said was the closest place he knew to heaven on Earth. "I don't know how long I'll be around on Martha's Vineyard," he writes. "But if nothing else, I know I made an awful lot of people happy."


Yes, he did. Buchwald's grand party is over. It is fortunate that at least some of us had a chance to tell him what a good time we had.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on Clarence Page's column by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles