Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 30, 2007 / 11 Shevat, 5767

Gender games: A capitol idea

By Kathryn Lopez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Now that Hillary has declared that she is "in it to win," the 2008 presidential cycle promises to be the mother of all presidential cycles. If you think that our national politics have overdosed on estrogen in the wake of San Francisco congresswoman Nancy Pelosi's elevation to Speaker, you ain't seen nothing yet.


The night she took the gavel, striking a Rosie the Riveter pose and declaring her breaking of the marble ceiling (that's got to hurt), ABC evening-news anchor Charlie Gibson declared: "But in a picture perhaps even more symbolic, the new Speaker was on the floor for a time, holding her 6-year-old grandson, all the while giving directions on how events were to proceed. It seemed the ultimate in multitasking: Taking care of the children and the country."


She may be a woman, but I'm the one who will roar if she's taking care of me. This, the woman who during the State of the Union address refused to stand as the president declared: "This is not the fight we entered in Iraq, but it is the fight we are in. ... It is still within our power to shape the outcome of this battle. So let us find our resolve, and turn events toward victory." The fact is, we are over there, and we ought to at least give the president's new policy a try before we advocate failure. But I digress.


During that same speech, the president had gracious words for Pelosi — a short, sweet and appropriate acknowledgment of her achievement in becoming the first female Speaker of the House. But then he moved on — to address Congress, with the Speaker, who happens to be a woman, standing behind him as normal.


And we should all move on. Or the chick rhetoric is going to cause one helluva backlash, one that women ideologues — those for whom being a woman is everything — will not like.


Hillary and her advisers could learn a lesson from the guy currently in the White House. When he was looking for a Supreme Court justice, he homed in on his White House counsel, Harriet Miers. By most judgments, she was a hardworking, smart, good woman. But it looked as if she were being nominated because she was a woman. The president overlooked plenty of other, more qualified candidates because of the ridiculous conventional wisdom that Justice Sandra Day O'Connor's seat was a woman's seat, never again to be filled by a male.


That attitude was insulting — to Harriet Miers, and to qualified judges, men and women both. It sends the message that you — whatever group we're favoring — can't make it on your own.


Well, we girls can make it after all. And Mary Tyler Moore is dated for even TV Land nowadays. There may be a milestone or two yet to hit, but women are in the mix — in the marble halls, our nation's top diplomat, editors, you name it. And they do it, for the most part, because they do it like the guys do it: they work hard and prove themselves.


So when folks advocate Hillary for president because she is a woman — let's make history! — we ought to take a step back, lest we fall into "The Hillary Trap." This is a phrase radio talk-show host (and former Supreme Court clerk) Laura Ingraham used in her book (Hyperion, 2000) of the same "Trap" name to describe a devotion "to a liberal agenda than reduces women to yet another interest group seeking yet another government handout." Because she is a woman, we gloss over the actual substance of what she promotes because all that really matters is her gender. As Ingraham put it: "Despite her public image as the independent modern woman, Hillary has always been a throwback, who for decades relied on a philandering husband and big government for all the answers."


As Pelosi took charge, she had to be reminded that being a woman isn't really an ideology unto itself; she swore other women in to Congress, including Tennessee's Marsha Blackburn, a member of the leadership of the conservative Republican Study Committee. Blackburn agrees with Hillary and Pelosi on very little — even though all three are mothers, wives and women. The real milestone will be when we realize that playing gender games is less important than exercising right reason.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles