Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 9, 2006 / 9 Teves, 5766

Happiness & money

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Here's a myth: Money makes us happy.


This was one of the myths John Stossel investigated on "20/20" a few weeks ago. He interviewed Jean Chatsky, a columnist for Money magazine, who conducted an interesting poll.


Chatsky found that money makes folks happier only if their family's income is below $30,000 a year. Once a family's income exceeds $50,000 — once it is able to meet its basic material needs — more money doesn't equate to more happiness.


We all dream about being rich or winning the lottery, but an excess of dough doesn't drive an excess of happiness. One woman who won the lottery told Stossel she was very happy for a spell, but then the thrill wore off. Stossel also cited a survey of 49 of the world's richest folks. The mega-rich aren't a whit happier than any of us.

HUMAN NEEDS
Stossel's report got me to thinking about Abraham Maslow's hierarchy of human needs, which I studied in college. At the bottom of the hierarchy are the most basic needs — the need for shelter, the need to eat.


As soon as we meet these needs, we long for slightly more. We long for safety and security. We want to sleep in a secure home at night and know that we have a job to go to in the morning.


When I was a lad growing up in the suburbs of Pittsburgh, most of the neighbors had good jobs and that was enough for them. They didn't care if the work was interesting or even rewarding. If a job provided security for their family, it was a good job.


When we attain such security, we begin to focus on higher human needs. We focus on the need for love and belonging, the need for friends, romance and eventually a family. We are social animals, after all, and we need each other to laugh and love and enjoy life.


And as that level of need is attained, we seek to fulfill the next: our need for esteem. Maslow described this as the need for respect and recognition. The need to do work that matters, and the need to be recognized for it.


When all these core needs are met, we are then poised to attain the highest level of human fulfillment: self-actualization, the granddaddy of them all.


"A musician must make music, the artist must paint, a poet must write, if he is to be ultimately at peace with himself," writes Maslow. "What a man can be, he must be. This need we may call self-actualization."


I didn't realize, until I saw Stossel's report and began to restudy Maslow's hierarchy, how lucky I am where human happiness is concerned. There are plenty of improvements I can make in this life, to be sure, but I'm beginning to dabble my toes in the self-actualization pool.


There have been many periods in my years of self-employment when I was barely able to meet the most basic needs on Maslow's hierarchy, but in recent years I've been blessed. I earn more than I need, particularly since I moved back to Pittsburgh.

FINDING THE ROAD
During the past year, I was able to work part-time doing corporate work, so that I could spend more time researching and writing about subjects that I love (one fiction book and one nonfiction). I was able to allow my income to drop about 40 percent from the previous years, but it was one of the happiest years I've ever had.


Stossel concludes that the things that bring true happiness include the oldies but goodies: marriage, family, friends, religion. A recent Gallup study showed, in fact, that married people are significantly happier than single people, and that religious people are significantly happier than nonreligious folks.


And what we do and how we do it are far more important than the amount we get paid for doing it — and for many of the most rewarding things we do, we don't get paid at all.


So it is a myth that money makes us happy.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2005, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles