Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 10, 2006 / 10 Teves, 5766

Why Condi's star is rising

By Clarence Page


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | After a year filled with unpleasant surprises for other Bush administration leaders, count Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice has emerged as the biggest political winner.


Compared to the bashing that other top members of Team Bush have taken in the polls, she's the Oprah of the administration: beloved, unbowed and buzz-worthy as a possible presidential candidate in 2008.


A December Time magazine poll, for example, found her approval rating to be 53 percent, "the highest in the Administration," vs. 41 percent for President Bush. And that was before Bush and Company experienced a slight improvement in the polls after the President's televised pre-Christmas speech on Iraq.


In fact, sometimes it seems as though everybody is talking about Rice running for president   —  except her!


"I will not run for president of the United States," she said, beating back host Tim Russert's persistent questions on NBC's "Meet the Press" last March. "How is that? I don't know how many ways to say 'no' in this town."


Actually, Rice does know how to say "no." It is others who refuse to believe her. She said "no" to Russert again on Oct. 16, noting that she was flattered but wanted to do other things with her life. She said "no" again to "Fox News Sunday's" Chris Wallace and again to a BBC television program, "The Politics Show," on Oct. 23.


Yet, the yay-sayers, which is the opposite of nay-sayers, point out that, even when she pressed on whether she absolute, positively, definitely will not run under any possible circumstances, no way, no how, Rice always leaves a little bitty opening.


One item in US News and World Report last May quoted unnamed "political associates" of the secretary of state as saying, "She definitely wants to be president," but she doesn't want to quit to do it; "She wants to be drafted."


Credibility-wise, the use of unnamed sources in stories like this remind me of movie mogul Samuel Goldwyn's line about an oral agreement not being worth the paper it's printed on. I advise that you give hot Condi-draft tips as much credibility as you should give to the names that are not backing them up.


Nevertheless, that blind news-gossip item fed a rising cottage industry in Draft-Condi-for-2008 Web sites. One can find lavish praise for Secretary Rice's prospects on these sites, along with T-shirts, bumper stickers, bobble-head dolls and invitations to contribute cash to the draft-Condi cause. Major credit cards accepted.


Or, if you're really interested in political fiction out of the Twilight Zone, you can pick up political consultant Dick Morris' book, "Condi vs. Hillary: The Next Great Presidential Race" (HarperCollins)


Am I being cynical? No, just sarcastic. If I came out with my own book, titled, "Is Dick Morris Right? Or Does America Just Like to Watch Girls Fight?," that would be cynical.


Praising popular celebrities by saying they should run for president is a long-cherished American tradition. But when it fires up a serious campaign for someone before much is known about their beliefs, that's when I get cynical.


Condi's no dummy. She sees how tough it is for even the hungriest of candidates to run for president, let alone win. Nowhere in her distinguished background has she shown an appetite for the long, hard, often-energizing, often-humiliating slog to the White House. Americans promise a Rose Garden to the winner at the end, not on the road to get there.


As such, I can't help but wonder how much of this Run-Condi-Run excitement would be swirling around her if she were white.


Not that there's anything wrong with that. It's great that we have advanced so quickly from a time when black skin was an indisputable liability for a presidential candidate to its becoming a measurable asset, as some pollsters found when multitudes were urging Colin Powell to run.


But serious governing demands substance more than symbols. The more I learned about Colin Powell's beliefs, the more I believed he was someone for whom I could vote. I feel the same, so far, about Sen. Barack Obama, the rising black Democratic star from Illinois. I enjoy being a swing voter. We keep both parties on their toes.


I might want to vote for Dr. Rice, too, were she to defy my expectations and run anyway. But, first I'd have to know what she believes.


Where does she stand on jobs, schools, housing, crime, outsourcing, immigration, Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, criminal justice, economic development and the priorities of a Congress that cavalierly cuts taxes without cutting spending, except on social programs?


Political views aside, I like Condoleezza Rice. She's gifted, expertly informed and a well-qualified manager. She also says that she's not interested in running for president and I take her at her word. But, if she changes her mind, I eagerly look forward to finding out what she believes. Great nations do not grow on national security issues alone.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on Clarence Page's column by clicking here.

Archives

© 2006, TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles