Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 29, 2004 / 6 Teves, 5764

Hamas in the classroom: A response

By Daniel Pipes & Asaf Romirowsky


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


After this site published an article questioning why an alleged Hamas sympathizer was being paid by taxpayers to teach a course on Islam at a university, our readers flooded the school with mail questioning their sense of reality. Below, the authors defend themselves from an angry institution's charges.


http://www.jewishworldreview.com | January 28, 2004


President Frank T. Brogan
Florida Atlantic University
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, Florida 33431
E-mail: skane@fau.edu



Dear Mr. Brogan:

We read your two press releases of yesterday concerning the matter of Mustafa Abu Sway's ties to Hamas, a proscribed organization in the United States.


We are pleased to learn that you are taking steps to investigate this matter, that you "notified the State Department of Mr. Pipes' allegations," and also "forwarded to the State Department and the coordinators of the Fulbright Program" our previous allegations.


However, we wish you had taken these actions following our first article on the Abu Sway matter, published on October 20, 2003 ... At that time, unfortunately, you were quoted in the Palm Beach Post saying "at this point we have no reason to take any action" (http://www.campus-watch.org/article/id/829).


There are other problems. We have it on good authority that the Fulbright program, a part of the Department of State, far from engaging in "rigorous background and security checks," has relied on FAU to check out Mustafa Abu Sway. When FAU informs us that it relies on the State Department for this service, we see a circuitous passing of the buck that leaves us anxious.


Further, the Department of State is not the agency to refer to for domestic security. That is the bailiwick of the Department of Homeland Security, the federal agency tasked with preventing terrorism in the United States.


It is also necessary for us to point out that FAU's claim that "received notice from New York Post columnist Daniel Pipes" (http://danielpipes.org/article/1487) about our forthcoming article is erroneous; a note was sent to Abu Sway asking for his comments. It was not sent to FAU. And Daniel Pipes has not been a New York Post columnist for three months now.


Your characterization of our criticism as "shrill" is unbecoming the dignity of Florida Atlantic University. At no point have we engaged in ad hominem attacks on you or your colleagues; we urge you not to characterize our work to protect the country from Islamist terrorism in this offensive way.


As president of a large state university, you have a solemn obligation not just to ensure the safety of your institution but to the country as a whole. You are assuring the public that you have acted "with due diligence and an abundance of caution" but we believe otherwise so long as you are employing someone directly associated with terrorism. We urge to deal with this matter seriously and urgently.


Yours sincerely,
Daniel Pipes and Asaf Romirowsky .

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Daniel Pipes is director of the Middle East Forum and the author of several books, most recently Militant Islam Reaches America. Asaf Romirowsky is a research associate at the institute. Comment by clicking here.

© 2004, Daniel Pipes