Jewish World Review Jan. 2, 2004 /8 Teves, 5764

Drs. Michael A. Glueck & Robert J. Cihak

The Medicine Men
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


Baseball Good Medicine?: International Forkball and Split Finger Rotating Our Way Soon


http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | Why a medical column on baseball at year's end? Well, baseball is very good medicine for Americans -- normally! Sports let us vent our spleens, hostilities and frustrations. But wait until 2004. We're going to get the old international fork ball, split finger and screwball!

There's a fine old German word, Schadenfreude, joy in the sufferings and misfortunes of others. Locally, Schadenfreude's relatively tame: a 30 mile backup on the freeway, going in the other guy's direction, for example. But global Schadenfreude - how they love it when America stumbles - is a different affair entirely.

No, I'm not talking about the Middle East, Saddam or Osama. The problem is baseball. We who invented the game, we who gave the world the hissy-fitting manager, the spitball, the infield fly rule . . . we won't be playing our game at the 2004 Olympics.

We lost, November 7th, in the qualifying tournament. To Mexico. 2-1. Maybe nobody's paying much attention now. But next year in Athens, they'll notice. And we'll notice that they notice. So get ready for a global Bronx cheer.

"We lost a game," said Sandy Alderson, an executive vice president in the Office of the Commissioner of Major League Baseball and the top American official with the team. "I don't think it's a setback for U.S. baseball. I think it's a validation of the internationalization of the game." (AP)

Great. Blame it on globalization.

So what went wrong? Frank Robinson, the team's Hall of Fame manager, opined that "It was a well-pitched game by their pitchers. We were not able to do much until the ninth inning, and it was not enough." (AP)

Once again, a manager demonstrates his keen grasp of the obvious.

So how did it happen? In 2000, a team managed by Tommy Lasorda took the gold at Sydney: a team that included pro stars Ben Sheets and Doug Mientkwiecz. (Professionals are eligible) But where were our professionals when Mexico took the joy away?

Donate to JWR

Something's majorly wrong when all these megabucks superstars can't give a little back to their country. Of course, they have all kinds of excuses: contracts, injuries, time off from the regular season, agent doesn't like it, wife won't go, hangnails, whatever. But when you're getting $10,000 every time you throw a 6 ounce ball 60 feet feet, or $20,000 every time you wave a bat at one of those six ounce jobs - OK, the ball is hard and coming at you at 95 mph, but that's not the point - you'd think a little gratitude might be in order.

Not likely. Not in what professional sports have become. Abner Doubleday's no doubt rotating in his grave over our failure, but so are the ancient Greeks, who took athletics very seriously. To them, victory indicated the favor of the gods. To us, victory brings product endorsements. From "Show Us the Glory" to "Show Me the Money" - a long and not entirely graceful way down. And when we talk about "sports immortals," well, so did the Greeks. But they meant it literally.

But enough of this self-pity. What is to be done? Sometime within the next few decades, the United States will host the Games, and our baseball team will automatically participate. Until then, we'll have to earn our spot. So here's what we do.

First, Roger Clemens, who graciously offered to play in 2004, must be kept from aging. The world must have an opportunity to observe and appreciate The Rocket's Red Glare.

Second, bring back Tommy Lasorda! In 2000 the U.S. team managed by the ex-Dodger skipper and Hall-of-Famer Lasorda took the gold at Sydney­with a team, like this year's, comprised mainly of professional castoffs and Major League wannabes.

Third, make Lasorda's job a lot easier. Get Major League Baseball to follow the lead of the National Basketball Association in its willingness to have its stars compete in the Olympics. Baseball balks at the idea because, unlike with basketball, the Olympics interrupts its season. One equitable solution might be for the U.S. Olympic Committee to have the right to tap the services of only one or two willing players from each big league roster. Think of it as an "amateur draft" in reverse.

Fourth, we need to strengthen our baseball programs at all amateur and professional levels. We'll do it the American Way, by importing as many outstanding Latino and Japanese players as we can find!

Finally, we American baseball fans must acclimate to changing global realities. When the ball doesn't bounce our way, we need to console ourselves with an updated adage:

"Wait'll next Olympiad!"

In the mean time don't over-medicate on sports and have many "Happy Holidays and New Years".

Editor's Note: Michael Arnold Glueck, M.D. wrote this week's column.




Michael Arnold Glueck, M.D., is a multiple award winning writer who comments on medical-legal issues. Robert J. Cihak, M.D., is a Discovery Institute Senior Fellow and a past president of the Association of American Physicians and Surgeons. Both JWR contributors are Harvard trained diagnostic radiologists. Comment by clicking here.

Up

12/26/03: Medicare Bankrupt: A Possible Palliative 12/19/03: Crossing Fruit Street: Some Movies Like "Stuck on You" Cross the Medical Line
12/12/03: Silver Lining in the Medicare Clouds?
12/05/03: Medicare mop up
12/01/03: The Dirty Radioactive Bomb: Rational Response or Fear Itself?
11/24/03: The Caduceus Conspiracy: How the People Lost Medicine and How We Can Take It Back
11/14/03: Mosquitoes kill us; DDT doesn't
11/07/03: Avoiding the Schiavo Scenario: Readers Speak Out With Life-and-Death Comments
10/31/03: The Terri Schindler-Schiavo Case: Speaking out for those who can't
10/24/03: Want health service — go on a diet?
10/15/03: The War on Legal Painkillers: Sen. Kerry owes an apology to the more than 48 million Americans who suffer chronic pain
10/13/03: Medicare defrauds itself
09/19/03: Politics prevents women from learning about abortion/breast cancer risks
09/12/03: Medical mischief
09/05/03: Unholy medicine
08/29/03: The California Tea Party and West Coast Determinism; Voter anger coming your way soon
08/18/03: The outlaw prosecutors: A Justice and Civil Liberties Issue
08/08/03: "Toxic Teeth?"
07/25/03: Resuscitating the Constitution; CPR American Style
07/25/03: Drug reimportation: Bill translates to goodnight, patients
07/11/03: Costly Medicare Changes, Without Real Reform
07/04/03: The Painful DEA II: War on legal drugs ensnares too many doctors and not enough dealers
06/20/03: The Medicare Mess: Will President Bush call Congress' Bluff?
06/13/03: Diagnosis: School Insanity: A suit for sanity and school discipline
06/05/03: Soaring Medical Costs: Rational ignorance or rational enlightenment?
05/30/03: A Tale of Two Admirable Women: Jessica and Annika
05/23/03: Latest medical innovation: Cash
05/09/03: We feel your pain; Physicians have it too no thanks to the DEA
05/02/03: Medical Quarterbacking
04/25/03: CNN the "Conscience-Not Network"
04/21/03: Medical Miranda?
04/11/03: Are childhood vaccines shots in the dark?
04/09/03: The PETA Principle -- The lambshank Redemption
03/28/03: American conscience?
03/21/03: West Wimps or Wings: Treatment for Hollywood Hypocrisy
03/13/03: Worldwide schmaltz shortage looms --- all because of a featherless chicken
03/06/03: Legal metastases are killing us
02/28/03: Outside the Jury Box: Seeking Justice rather than a Lottery in Medical Liability
02/21/03: Workforce temperature rising; employer TLC in demand
02/14/03: Malpractice Insurance: They Reap What They Sue
02/12/03: Hawk, Dove or Groundhog: Diagnosis Critical List; Prognosis Uncertain
02/07/03: How about tax cuts for the "rich" and "poor"?
01/31/03: AIDS Bug Chasers
01/24/03: Libertarian moment or movement?
01/17/03: It's not just 'sue the docs' anymore
01/03/03: A pox on the critics; diagnosis sour grapes
01/03/03: If protesting is good for your health; then at least let's root for the home team
12/20/02: Obesidemic (obesity epidemic) or not?
12/20/02: Time for voluntary informed smallpox vaccinations
12/13/02: The real reason the state opposes homeschooling?
12/06/02: Conscience of a former conservative: Portrait of a political metamorphosis
11/27/02: Thanksgiving dinner hazard?
11/22/02: Time to think outside the box and inside the nucleus
11/15/02: The military should be protected from abusive environmental laws in times of war
11/11/02: Does Kyoto Treaty pose more harm than global warming?
10/31/02: Deep thoughts on Baseball, the World Series and Life: How about them Anaheim Angels?
10/23/02: "Pediatric rule" guinea pigs
10/23/02: Once the World Series ends, we need to create a Donnie Moore Day of Remembrance: Sports and mental health
10/18/02: Congress to senior patients: Do as we say not as we do for ourselves
10/11/02: Using pollution "scare labeling" to political advantage
10/04/02: The Great Asbestos Heist: Did Litigation and Junk Medical Science Helped Bring Down the World Trade Center?
09/27/02: The imminent rise of civic feminism: A far healthier national alternative in war and peace
09/20/02: A Ray A Day" to replace the daily apple?
09/13/02: Beware of celebrities hawking drugs
09/06/02: Avoid 9/11 overdose: Give blood to begin "September of Service," SOS
08/28/02: From Doubleday to strikeday: Baseball's collective anxiety attack
08/23/02: Should she or shouldn't she?: An alternative view on treating menopause with HRT
08/16/02: Cooking up defenses against germ warfare
08/02/02: Medicine, crime and canines
07/26/02: Lies, pathologic lies and the Palestinians
07/19/02: Medicare Drug Follies … as in "now you see it, now you don't"
07/12/02: Anti-Profiling: A New Medically False Belief System
07/08/02: Don't procrastinate, vaccinate!
06/28/02: The scientific advances on the safe and effective deployment of DDT are being ignored, or denied. Why?
06/21/02: Sex and the system: In seeking healthcare men are different from women
06/14/02: The FDA, drug companies and life-saving drugs: Who's the fox and who's the hen now?
06/07/02: Medical Privacy Lost: A hippo on the healthcare back!
05/24/02: To clean up America's game: A (soggy) ground rule
05/10/02: Free speech is good medicine
05/03/02: Medicine's Vietnam
04/26/02: Attack on alternative medicine could lead to alternative lawsuits
04/12/02: Insure the 'crazies'?
04/09/02: No Time for Litmus Tests: In War We Need a Surgeon General and NIH, CDC, and FDA Directors
04/02/02: The scoop on soot: A dirty rotten shame?
03/22/02: Too many beautiful minds to waste: The first annual Caduceus Movie
03/15/02: Terror and transformation: Defense essential for health & state of mind
03/08/02: Diagnosis: Delusional
03/06/02: The great matzah famine
03/01/02: Is new Hippocratic Oath hypocritical?
02/15/02: Why the recent moaning about cloning?
02/08/02: Searching for Dr. Strangelove
01/15/02: Score one for the value of human life
01/04/02: Medical-legal-financial wake-up call
12/28/01: Who's afraid of a 'dirty bomb'?
12/21/01: End of medicine?
12/14/01: More heroes: Docs deserve a little credit after 9/11
11/16/01: Do we need 'Super Smallpox Saturdays'?
11/09/01: Why the post-9-11 health care debate will never be the same
11/01/01: Common sense good for our mental health
10/26/01: Your right to medical privacy --- even in terror time
10/12/01: Failed immigration policy ultimately bad for nation's mental health: Enemy within leads to epidemic of jumpy nerves
09/28/01: Can legal leopards change their spots: A treat instead of a trick
09/21/01: Civil defense again a civic duty
08/30/01: Shut down this government CAFE
08/23/01: School Bells or Jail Cells?
08/15/01: Time to take coaches to the woodshed
08/10/01: Blood, Guts & Glory: The Stem of the Stem Cell controversy

© 2002